October 23, 2018
Home | Podcast | Contact Nancy | LinksMedia | Constituency Map | Canada | Saskatchewan   

MLA Report
(4 December 2012)

Results of Municipal Elections

I would like to offer my congratulations to all successful candidates who were elected to positions of responsibility for their municipality or their school board for the municipal elections that were held on October 24.

Returning as mayors are: Pat Wagner for the town of Hague, Ben Buhler for the town of Osler, Barb Schultz for the town of Waldheim, Allan Earle for the town of Dalmeny, Barb Adams-Eichendorf for Hepburn (formerly a village and now a town), and Sheryl Spence for Warman (formerly a town and now a city). Joining this veteran group is the newly-elected mayor for the city of Martensville, Kent Muench. For the three RMs within the constituency of Martensville, we have three new reeves: Martin Penner for the RM of Rosthern, Terry Knippel for the RM of Laird, and Judy Harwood for the RM of Corman Park.

There is some solid and excellent leadership in this group that will serve your communities very well in the next four years. I look forward to continuing my good working relationship with this group. Congratulations, as well, to all successful councillors for each of our municipalities. I’m sorry I don’t have space to list everyone separately.

On our school boards, all members representing areas within this constituency were re-elected. On the Prairie Spirit School Division board, Bonnie Hope will continue to represent Martensville, Sam Dyck in Warman, Keith Wagner in Hague, Pam Wieler in Waldheim, and George Janzen in Osler, Hepburn and Dalmeny. Continuing to represent Martensville on the Greater Saskatoon Catholic School Board is Wayne Stus.

I would also like to offer my thanks to all candidates who stepped up to offer themselves to serve their communities who were not successful in the election. Your communities are better for your interest, your vision, your energy and your dedication. Please continue to take an active role in your communities.

The Saskatchewan Party government will continue to work with municipalities to ensure they have solid, reliable funding to improve infrastructure and to maintain services in your community. All municipalities have received substantial increases in funding since this government took office in 2007. Revenue sharing to the city of Martensville, for example, has more than tripled on an annual basis (from $506,000 in 2007/08, to $1,545,000 in 2012/13. That’s a 205% increase To see the increase for any community in Saskatchewan, go to www.municipal.gov.sk.ca/revenuesharing.

Past MLA Reports

Contact Nancy

Generation v2.54 Site design ©2018 Kontakt Consulting. Web-Hosting by Metric-Hosting Ltd.

All contents are ©2018 Nancy Heppner, MLA Martensville-Warman.

This site is best viewed with a resolution set to at least 800x600 using Internet Explorer 6 or higher.